In Reception, the curriculum is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. Activities in the morning focus on language, literacy and mathematical skills, whilst always being related to the current topic of the class. In the afternoon, the girls continue to learn through imaginative role-play, construction activities, art and design, technology, music and physical activities, using both the indoor and outdoor environments.

This framework has seven areas of learning. The prime areas of learning develop the girls’ curiosity, enthusiasm and capacity for learning and forming relationships. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development,
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

These are then supported by four specific areas of learning:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design